PDA

View Full Version : Bought a new used gun.

sloth5202
09-28-2010, 10:26 AM
Last week I decided that I just didn't need or want my Benelli Nova anymore. I bought the gun last year right before my first early goose hunt. Everyone I talked to recommended this gun because it was such a tough and reliable gun. This maybe true but to be honest I don't do a lot of hunting where I use my gun to paddle to shore so in hindsight this isn't that big of a deal.

The other reason I got rid of the gun is because I just can't get used to the whole pump action. I was very fortunate growing up because when I started shooting I was shooting only double barrel guns both SxS and O/U's. Unlike most I wasn't raised blasting away with the old 870 so I just wasn't comfortable using the pump action. I also felt like the Nova was a little big for me so firing the gun was even more awkward. I sold the gun to a kid(18 years old) who is just getting into waterfowling. I sold it for $300 which included all the choke tubes and a gun sock. With that cash I bought a Beretta AL-1. It may not be quite as versatile as my Nova but I'm sure it will still kill some pheasants. I deer hunt and turkey hunt but I probably won't use the gun for that because I can just borrow a relative's guns.

Do you guys think this was a good choice by me? Most of my friends don't hunt so I will mostly use the gun as a loaner gun for those first or second timers I bring out with me. I like my O/U's too much to hand over a $1,000 gun to someone who doesn't truly appreciate it.

Another question is do you guys feel like my impression of the Nova is accurate? Maybe a little over-hyped....

Shadow
09-28-2010, 10:36 AM
I've got a Beretta AL2- had it since the early 70's- sweet looking and handling gun- shoots slugs and just about anything else well- I shot skeet but it was my quail gun- so 30 years of using it every weekend during the season without a bit of trouble- meant hard to beat gun