PDA

View Full Version : Auto Handgun

Dakotazeb
03-04-2010, 07:54 PM
Been thinking about getting myself a auto handgun. Looking at the Glock's, Smith's and Ruger's in either 9mm or .40 S&W. Anyone have any suggestions on what, or what not, to get?

jeffstally
03-04-2010, 08:39 PM
I have a springfield XD 9 that I have had good luck with. It is similar in looks to a Glock. I am not a handgun expert by any means though...

birdman652001
03-04-2010, 08:45 PM
you thinking of auto as in hold the trigger and it keeps firing? or Semi Auto?

Auto: Illegal

Semi-Auto: Legal

Glock 22 or 23 would be a good choice. 23 is a compact of a glock 22. 22 is the full verison

Springfield XD .40.

if you like a gun that you can shoot somewhat but like to have it for looks...

smith and wessions M&P gun is a nice buy.

if you like .45 cals... you have to get no other than a springfield 1911.. OR kimber 1911 .45. got a heck of a kick but awesome guns.

Sig Sauer P226 or P229.. my Sgt has one for practice shooting and he likes it. I have a S&W Sigma Series which they dont make anymore and looks like a Glock.

Glock would be the best choice if you ask me. The US Marshal, FBI and secert services around here carry Glocks. I think back in my hometown carries Sigs as well as I carried it when I worked for the Sheriffs office in Sioux Falls. but my sig was a measly 9mm. i didnt care for it. Glocks were more fit, durable, accuracy, along with long life period.

birdshooter
03-04-2010, 09:21 PM
birdman,

What do you know about the Beretta PX4 or even H&K USP's?

Know anyone who carries one?

Dakotazeb
03-04-2010, 09:28 PM
birdman, of course I was talking semi-auto. So you are saying the Glock in 40 S&W would be the best choice? That's what a friend that is retired from the Denver PD recommended.

Which Glock, the 22 or 23? I want a personal defense handgun as well as something I can shoot for pleasure.

birdman652001
03-04-2010, 09:33 PM
birdman,